love and patchwork

I am compelled to design everything, so I gave myself a challenge. My challenge was to make a quilt top without designing it ahead of time. Yep, improvise.  I had to start out boldly, not knowing where I was going. Oh my. That was hard for me. I started in the middle and worked my way out. I was forced to problem solve at each addition of a row. Relaxing? Not.  But it forced me to think of just one row at a time without designing what would come next. Hah!! A lesson in life? I would say so!

Here is what evolved. I used modern Japanese prints mixed with traditional French prints. I enjoyed the red with the ochre and golds.I never would have planned this combination. I didn’t worry about whether it would work in my bedroom or follow a color scheme in my house or be a pattern that I could replicate.  I just enjoyed each row and the way the fabrics led me along.

When I knew I was finished, I had the unbelievable pleasure of handing it over to a quilting group. I am so honored to have these talented women hand quilt my pieced work.  I told them to do what they felt best and that I wanted to see their stitches. If they quilted this by hand, I wanted to see their work!!! I treasure this.

My quilt and the fabulous women are pictured below. How I wish I could have joined them.  I hear they solve many of life’s problems while quilting. Boy, could I use some of that!

While this was a difficult exercise for me, it taught me to step out boldly and not to worry about the outcome. A direct application to stepping out boldly in life with faith. Easier said than done. So far I am happy with the results.

xo

all photos by Amy Dietrich for Coventry Drive.

7 thoughts on “love and patchwork

  1. Amy, The quilt is gorgeous! I think you can conclude that improvisation definitely works for you in quilting. Yes, in life it’s harder, but I think you’re right that the underlying attitude/approach is similar. . .

  2. Thanks so much for the comments!! I really appreciate them (and all of you).
    And Jeffrey, Princess Tam Tam and MH jump on the bed so much, it’s impossible to keep all of those straight! 🙂

Leave a Reply

